• Login
  • Sign Up

Spanish La Liga

Spanish La Liga

Spanish La Liga

la liga logo

General Informations:

Spain’s Primera Division, more commonly known as La Liga, has a history of over 80 years, and has become one of the biggest leagues in the world. According to the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS), La Liga is ranked first in the world; other statistics place it second, after the Premier League. Up to this day only three teams can add the fact of playing in every La Liga game to their list of records: Real Madrid, Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao. If you are familiar with such names as: Romario, Luis Figo, Zidane, Ronaldinho or Maradona, you will soon realize why La Liga is called “La Liga de las Estrellas” (the league of stars), and why bookmakers offer the best La Liga odds for the matches, whether they are high profile or not.

Another strong point in La Liga being the best one at the moment is the fact that it gave the world the winner of Golden Shoe award: Cristiano Ronaldo and  the three times Balon D’Or winner Lionel Messi; even though Barcelona had a total of 5 players nominated for the award: Lionel Messi, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets and Gerard Piqué. Attendance-wise, La Liga is situated on the third place in Europe, falling short after the Bundesliga and the Premier League. Real Madrid and Barcelona have always been the dominant forces in Spanish football, and there’s no wonder that the duel between them, appropriately dubbed El Clasico, attracts millions of viewers by providing an amazing spectacle to the fans.

Deportivo, Valencia and Atletico Madrid winning titles was just a temporary “lapse in judgment” from both super teams, though statistically it would be nice to have some competition again. Follow our Primera Liga tips and win with sports-betting-winners.com!


Real Madrid's Mesut Ozil celebrates his goal against Atletico Madrid with teammate Cristiano Ronaldo during their Spanish first division soccer match at Santiago Bernabeu stadium in MadridAfter football became professional in Spain in 1925, its most important clubs gathered to take part in La Liga, following the British example. The first tournament took place in 1928, and the first champion was more than obviously FC Barcelona. With just 10 participating teams, it provided less room for entertainment, seeing as the teams knew each other really well. So, starting with 1934, La Liga already had 12 teams.

As a result of the Civil War, football took a step back…only to return a few years later with improved forces and much more fans. In 1984, La Liga went under the patronage of the National League of Professional Football, and in 1995 a new system of awarding points for each game was used already, with teams being given three points for a win, instead of just two.

Out of 59 clubs who took part in the competition, only three managed to win the title and have an original trophy in their collection, since teams only get to keep it if they win the championship 3 or 5 times in a row. These teams are: Real Madrid with 5 original trophies, Barcelona with 4 and Athletic Bilbao with one. 1987 saw the birth of playoff games in La Liga, and also the longest of the tournaments so far took place, because the 18 teams were divided into groups of 6. Only one team relegated, and three were promoted to the first league, consisting of 20 teams, same as today. We provide the best La Liga predictions, a new game each week. Thus, boredom is not a word we have in our vocabulary, same as with the other La Liga games…there is never a dull moment.


With 20 teams, La Liga sums up 38 matches at the end of each season, played in two legs, the order of which is decided during a draw at the beginning of the season. If at the end of the season several teams have the same number of points, La Liga teams are divided using a somewhat different criteria than other leagues:

  1. Points from matches between teams.
  2. Goal difference from matches between teams.
  3. Most goals for from matches between teams.
  4. Goal difference from all matches.
  5. Most goals for from all matches.

The matches between team in question are the first criteria after which the difference is settled as the other leagues of the world. After the teams are separated according to either goals difference or direct results, and we have our designated champion, we can already point out the teams who will take part in European competitions. The first three teams go directly into the groups of the Champions League, the forth one goes through a qualification round, and in case it loses, they qualify for Europa League, where they could meet their 5th and 6th placed teams; same as with the winner of La Copa Del Rey. Check out sports-betting-winners.com on regular basis for the best Primera division tips and predictions!

All clubs have to present a list of 25 players before the beginning of the league, out of which only three can be citizens of countries that are not part of the European Union. New players can be added to that list either in July, or in January when La Liga is out of play due to holidays. There are some exceptional rules that allow the clubs to submit new players to that list: if one of the main ones is out due to a severe injury, and is not expected to come back on the field for at least 5 months.


According to Sports Business, La Liga is the biggest struggler in Europe when it comes to shirt sponsors, which is especially tough for average teams. Several teams, like Real Sociedad, went without a sponsor and had the name of their supporters on their shirts. Rayo Vallecano has announced Disney as sponsor, seeing as the team is poised to promote the upcoming Iron Man movie. Qatar Airways signed a deal with Barcelona to appear on their shirts starting with 2014, while Real Madrid extended their agreement with Betfair for another several years.

Television rights are equally divided between Barcelona and Real, while the other teams may sell broadcasting rights a little better if they have a good run in the European tournaments. Many will argue the difference will do Spanish football no good in the long run, but the numbers prove that La Liga continues to bring in more supporters each year.

Intersting facts about Spanish La Liga:

  • The Spanish Football Federation allowed advertisements on T-shirts in 1981, and Real Madrid was the first one to take advantage of this new rule.
  • Miguel Munoz is the coach with the most La Liga games, being Real Madrid’s manager for a total of 9 leagues starting with the 1960-1961 campaign.
  • Atletico Madrid and Athletic Bilbao hold the record for the draw with most goals in La Liga, with a 6-6 match in 1950.
  • Real Sociedad had a run of 38 unbeaten games between 1978-1980.
  • Espanolvs Barcelona was the game with the most red cards in 1995.

real madrid fans

No votes yet.
Please wait…

Bad Authentication data.

2017 @ Ultimate Soccer Design with love KODEFOREST